Nobel machines

The 2016 Nobel Prize for Chemistry goes to Jean-Pierre Sauvage of the University of Strasbourg, France, British-born Sir J. Fraser Stoddart, of Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA, and Bernard L. Feringa of the University of Groningen, the Netherlands. They share the prize for their work on the design and synthesis of molecular machines, the culmination of many years of effort taking us towards nanoscopic devices and systems on a scale akin to the machinery of living cells rather than any manufactured device.