Davy Medal

The recipient of this year's Davy Medal given by the Royal Society is Matthew Rosseinsky of the University of Liverpool in recognition of his “advances in the design and discovery of functional materials, integrating the developments of new experimental and computational techniques.” The medal was first given in 1877 and previous recipients include Marie Curie, Linus Pauling, Dmitri Mendeleev, Fraser Stoddart, and Ahmed Zewail. Rosseinsky will receive a bronze medal and £2,000 (about US$2650) at the Royal Society's Anniversary Day Meeting on 30 November 2017.